Shrines and Devotion

CLICK FOR LARGERAt our church here in Rincon we have a very large doublewide at the back of the property which contains some offices, a large room for Fellowship, a large kitchen, utility room, and my two private rooms; my office where I hold meetings, and my bedroom.  In my bedroom are what I think of as my three Hawaiʻi Shrines.”

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

HAWAII SHRINE (click for larger image)

The original one came about after my first visit to Hawaiʻi in 2004.  Once back in Rincon the ache that I felt for  Hawaiʻi was absolutely visceral, and just as with my artwork those feelings needed to be incarnated around me.  So, in the middle of one wall is a large map of Hawaiʻi surrounded by 4”x6” framed photos I have taken there.  The first Shrine has 73 of these photos.

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

KAUAI SHRINE (click for larger)

After I returned from my two weeks in Kauaʻi and feeling that ache again, I created the second Shrine having to do solely with Kauaʻi, comprised of 69 of the 4”x6” framed photos.  The third Shrine is a rod bridging a wide gap between two bookcases which holds all of the dried leis from my 5 trips to Hawaiʻi; 33 leis in all!

The dictionary gives the following meaning for the word Shrine: A place of religious devotion or commemoration, a site hallowed by association with a revered person or object or with an important event.”

My three Hawaiʻi Shrines are where the flame of my love for Hawaiʻi burns, even when I am out and about involved in the other elements of my life here.  When I return to my bedroom it is like going to the Embassy of another country… of Hawaiʻi; when I am there I am back again in Hawaiʻi.

If we don’t take care to fuel what we love, the flame of that love can go out, in which case we become émigrés from our own hearts, without a country, without a home.  Just as when I sang in the monastic choir, here in Rincon I try to put myself in harmony with Hawaiʻi through my Shrines, so that when I move there in 2019 I might experience a real and deep sense of having come home.

Only 3-1/2 years to go!

Kahu Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shrines and Devotion

  1. We are just a few short steps from a heiau, Hawaiian shrine of sorts. I always make the heiau my first and last stop when I am on island. Bring an offering — anything, a flower, a piece of fruit, whatever. You can read more about us in our WordPressblog, kauaikolea.wordpress.com. All of us who love Hawaii and what it stands for are joined together…..

    • In these busy and noisy modern days, a visit to the heiau is like taking refuge in a still, “moment in time” from long ago. I was really struck by the heiau I saw at Waimea Bay on O’ahu on my last visit. Somehow the breeze seemed to be whispering something to me but I couldn’t tell exactly what! Maybe the longer I listen the more I will hear! I will definitely enjoy reading your KAUAIKOLEA blog, Dear Princess!!
      Kahuna-pule Kimo

What do you think about this?

