Heiau

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

High above Waimea Bay on Oʻahu we went to see the Pu’u O Mahuka Heiau, driving along a twisty and winding dirt road to climb up there, even scraping the bottom of the car at one point!  Once there, my brother Dan and I got out to walk around while Mom stayed in the car.  I did not want to approach the Heiau as a tourist, tramping around within its consecrated borders since that space had been made sacred by those who built it; as a priest myself, I am sensitive to such things.

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

 

 

Sacred space has nothing to do with whatever particular denomination to which one might belong.  Sacred space is a part of the physical world that has been dedicated for no other purpose than for meeting the Divine.  Through ritual and purification, a spot on the earth is set aside (which is the meaning of the word “consecrated”) as a portal between our created world and the Eternal.

So instead of going inside the borders I walked all around them.  I was particularly taken by the one end that I, being a priest myself who serves at an altar, thought of as “the altar”.  I just stood there imagining the ceremonies performed long ago, only feet away from where I was.

There is a yearning inside us which leads us to build altars and temples, a yearning almost like a homing beacon which guides us through the Eternity into which we entered at the moment of our first (breath).  That yearning prompts us to reach higher than ourselves, to build altars that raise us up and to declare that this spot on the earth serves no other function than to be in contact with the Divine.

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

Standing there that day, even as an Orthodox Christian Priestmonk, I felt a tug of affinity with those priests who had functioned so long ago at that altar within that heiau.  It was a strange moment for me, a moment completely outside of time, feeling as I stood there like one more priest in a long line of priests.

Kahu Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heiau

  1. Brad Marcus says:

    I’m really enjoying reflections of your travels FJ, Thanks! Especially with this entry I am reminded of an Episcopal Priest at St Bart’s in NYC telling of her pilgrimage to Iona Abbey on the Isle of Mull in the Scottish Hebrides. She used the description “A Thin Place” which instantly gave me goosebumps and has given me much to think about and look into since. I suspect your description of Heiau is also that of visiting another “Thin Place!!” My reactionary goosebumps feel the same as the first time I heard that description.

    • A “thin place”… yes, that’s a good description of Sacred Space where the divide between time and Eternity is at its thinnest. On the mainland I have only had that experience within church buildings; at that heiau was the first time I had that experience outside!
      Kahuna-pule Kimo

What do you think about this?

