extraOrdinary Days!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click WAIOLA)

On my October 2010 trip Dan and I took some time to ourselves, leaving Mom at the Ilikai to rest and we hiked up to the top of Diamond Head.  Having come down Dan asked me if I’d like to go somewhere for shave ice and it was then that I had to admit that even though that was my fifth trip to Hawaiʻi I had not yet had any shave ice!  So he drove me to Waiola Shave Ice that he considered to be the best on Oʻahu and was he ever right!  Subsequently on that October trip we went for shave ice to two other places and none were so fine as that first… which we did return to once more before my leaving Hawaiʻi.

My first shave ice was lilikoʻi, pineapple, and mango.  While waiting for our shave ice I watched children and their families at the stand and sitting at the picnic tables off to the side.  Watching them convinced me that shave ice is meant to be eaten with others, to hear and watch their own enjoyment of this simple and ordinary treat.

Ordinary moments.  Real spiritual growth occurs when we begin to see the presence of the divine within the mundane and the ordinary in which we live.  That growth occurs as we develop the ability to approach God with helping hands, a searching mind, and a loving heart.

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click larger)

Having my first shave ice who would have thought I would see God in the simplicity of families sharing shave ice together?  And that is how our relationship with God plays out as well… the divine within the ordinary moments of our days.  God is not out on the edges of the cosmos but right here, right now, right in front of us and can be sensed if we look deeper within the ordinariness of our days.

Kahuna-pule Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to extraOrdinary Days!

  1. Andrew says:

    Fater Jamers….Glory be to Jesus Christ! Glory Forever !
    Great comments…thanks for the info.
    P.S.
    My cousin Diane( Buleza ) Duffy live on Molokai…
    She has been there for about 35 years….originally from Philly.
    Her Father and my Father, are brothers. ( Both in heaven, now !)
    Let me know when you get to Molokai, I’ll provide Diane’s info…
    Peace and Love, Andrew

What do you think about this?

