Inside the Mind of A Hotel Porter

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click SHERATON)

About halfway through my first trip to Hawaii in June of 2004 Dan, Mom, my sister Suzanne and her two boys arranged to fly over to Maui for an overnight stay.  Having had a whole week of non-stop family I was ready for a break so I opted to stay behind in Waikīkī.  While they were gone I was tasked with transferring all of their luggage from the Sheraton to the Royal Hawaiian where they would be staying for the second week.  After an hour of hard labor the luggage and I were finally in the Royal Hawaiian’s lobby, discovering that their new room would not be ready for another FIVE hours!  This meant I had to come back later to complete the transfer!  I went out for a drink to soothe my ruffled feathers!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click ROYAL)

Change, like moving the luggage, can be an inconvenience, one which we sometimes do not wish to embrace.  Someone once said that the definition of insanity is to continue doing things the same way and but expecting different results!  In the same way, we hope to be happy and yet to not have to change!  This desire carries within itself an element of insane self-delusion.  Despite evidence to the contrary we somehow believe that how we are thinking and reacting and living is workingIn fact our behavior can sometimes be the source of our misery and our unhappiness!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click ROYAL)

We can sometimes even be addicted to our unhappiness, especially if ending it means that we have to change!  Addiction is about bargaining with those feelings that we don’t want to feel or have to face, and if that fails maybe even flee!  The luggage doesn’t care at all how I feel about having to move it!  A mark of maturity is to do what needs to be done even if I don’t want to do it.  In other words, I need to stop bargaining with reality’s demands, stop whining inside about how I don’t want to do it… and just do it.  What I have found is that when one gives in to reality, my feelings change and enable me to do what I was convinced I couldn’t do!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click ROYAL)

So eventually all of the luggage got to their new rooms in the Royal Hawaiian and the family was grateful to me for handling it… never knowing that the wrestling had not only been with the luggage but with my interior life as well!  It seems that even luggage can be a sacrament of change!

Kahuna-pule Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inside the Mind of A Hotel Porter

  1. Deborah Andrews says:

    I too fought with needing to make a change because as one gets older the scarier change is. I am thankful for my change to emergency nursing. Truly I am having to stretch my capabilities to care fori people from 1 month to 100 years. Sometimes we have to relax into God’s arms and stop fighting. God bless you all!

    • EXACTLY! The older we get to be, the more we are tempted to become comfortable. I agree that your change to emergency nursing is actually a godsend: It will open your eyes to what was not seen before!
      Kahuna-pule Kimo

What do you think about this?

