Edamame Confuses Mainlanders!

I have a confession to make: I once ate a whole soybean pod!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click STRINGS)

While on Kauaʻi for two weeks I went to Roy’s, a restaurant that I had wanted to go to for a long time.  I sat down, they took my order, and brought out a small bowl with some green pods in it.  The pods were obviously seasoned and sprinkled and I had no idea what they were.  So when the waiter went away I picked up one and bit into it.  And chewed.  And chewed.  I chewed my way through the whole pod and I am convinced that that pod was closely related to coconut husk!  I had to choke it down with a glass of water and a bourbon!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

(click PODS)

The only reason that this comes up is because today I went to Sam’s Club and saw a big bag of frozen Edamame with instructions that you nuke the bag, let it cool, rip open, and enjoy.  I did all of that.  The pod looked awfully familiar but I bit into it anyway.  Well, fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice… there’s no way that I’m choking down that pod for a second time!  That’s when I thought to split the pod open and take out the “big pea”-looking thing.  I ate a bowl of them and loved them!

Education can be a costly and time-consuming process!

Kahuna-pule Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

