My Fantasy

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEMy fantasy is neither sexual nor murderous!  Rather, it is about real estate… specifically where will I live in Hawaiʻi in 2019 and thereafter?  When I move in June of 2019 my sole source of income will be my monthly Social Security check.  Clearly there will be no extravagant living in my Hawaiian future but I figure I can be poor in Georgia or in Hawaiʻi so just guess which one it will be?!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEOn my five visits to Hawaiʻi I have made several trips from Oʻahu over to the Big Island in order to minister to the small Orthodox community in Kailua-Kona called St.Juvenaly Mission.  Members of that mission are the artist Darrell Hill and his wife Pat who have a gallery and a studio in Holualoa.  Behind the gallery is a very small one-bedroom apartment where they graciously allowed me to stay on my previous visits.

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEThe first stay in the apartment sparked my Hawaiian real estate fantasy and subsequent visits only fanned the flames!  What if this was where I lived?  Mentally I bought a nice table, a bed, a television and on and on, making a whole life for myself right there in that apartment!  One Saturday I went to the Farmer’s Market in Kona and the fantasy threatened to burst into a conflagration!  I told myself I will buy these melons, this corn, these tomatoes, oh and I’ll need some flowers for the table!  On it went every subsequent visit!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGETrying to take a more realistic approach to the real estate question I have looked into the Lokahi Apartments outside Kona.  There is an income limit in order to get into the apartments but I suspect I will easily meet that limit!  The apartments are only about four or so years old and come in studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom plans.  I would love to afford the two-bedroom one since it has its own lānai.  But the key concept here is “afford!”  January of 2019 when I receive my first Social Security benefit check will decide the matter.  (click any pic for larger)

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEMy brother Dan in Waikīkī has urged me to also check into Senior Housing options on Oʻahu.  I must admit I have a sneaking suspicion when I’m around 80 or 85 and it comes time to give up driving I may well have to avail myself of that option.  Honolulu has a decent transit system in place which would allow me to get around without a car.  The downside is that I would not be able to participate in the St.Juvenaly Mission since I’d be on a different island and probably too financially restricted to afford flights back and forth.  Again the determining concept will be “afford.”

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

Ever since leaving my monastery in 2001 I have seen that God brings me exactly what I need when I need it although often in a form or from a source that is out of left-field.  So I will calmly entertain my real estate fantasy knowing that God may well have a different Hawaiian address in mind for me!  I am open to that as well!

Kahuna-pule Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Fantasy

  1. Pingback: Breathing Deeply | Journey2Kona2019

  2. Pingback: What We Desire Takes Us Somewhere | Journey2Kona2019

What do you think about this?

