Everything But Ourselves

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEWhenever I have been in Hawaiʻi I have been astounded to see monumental-scaled outdoor plants like palms and monstera that I have only ever known as potted houseplants!  Hawaiʻi is like a greenhouse that has escaped all pots, all bounds, all inhibitions!  It is amazing what is there to be seen in Hawaiʻi if only one pays attention.  I wonder how many tourists really notice Hawaiʻi beyond the fake lūʻau‘s, the guided tours and the myriad stalls of identical geegaws?

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEWe live in a culture which works hard to distract us with television and radio advertisements that scream at you! Elevator music won’t allow you to be with your thoughts when the doors close!  Billboards.  And it’s all very successful!  I know someone who can’t stand to be alone with herself, with her thoughts, with her deepest feelings.  She creates all sorts of distractions so that she won’t have to bump into herself!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEWhat would happen if we opted out of it all for a day?  No TV, no radio, no shopping, no tweets, no email… just “being”.  But what would we do with just being still?  That question is the exact manifestation of the problem with “doing” versus “being”.  Our culture gives us the impression that if we stop doing then we stop being.  Such a culture does not foster reflectivenessWe fill our silences with everything but ourselves!  Being unable to be alone with ourselves it’s no wonder so many people feel lonely and alienated!

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEHawaiʻi makes me so full of happiness!  For me Hawaiʻi is the sound of tiger doves with their distinctive take on cooing.  The morning after we arrived in October 2010 I went out onto my lānai with my coffee.  I heard the doves and I knew I was home.  It was enough to just sit there, sip coffee and listen to the little conversation that the doves were having.  It was enough, and being enough I felt full.

Kahu Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Everything But Ourselves

  1. ChrisM says:

    Wonderful post. This is what I think of the many people I see that are plugged in to their iPods while using public spaces. They often are using music to drown out their thoughts, encased in their own little worlds where they don’t have to interact with others or enjoy the simple pleasure of smiling at an acquaintance or saying, “hello, “pardon” or “thank you”.

    • And the irony of all this is we keep buying more and more inventions that are supposed to make it so easy to be connected to people! The fact is that if we want to be connected then we will be, technology or not! Having been a monk for around 40 years I am astonished at how so many people are terrified of silence, or are unnerved by a lack of background filler-noise!
      Kahuna-pule Kimo

  2. Have you toured the Allerton National Botanical Garden on Kauii yet? It is a must see!

    • Yes, I did… and I loved it! Had a couple of hours to myself. I seriously thought of ducking into a bush and just living there, the resident monk in the woods!
      Kahuna-pule Kimo

  3. Reblogged this on Journey2Kona2019 and commented:

    YES, I COULD USE A VACATION!

What do you think about this?

