Your Character Defects MAGNIFIED

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGEThe 2010 trip to Hawaiʻi was our gift to Mom by way of celebrating her 85th birthday.  We flew her first class each way and bought her a ¾ carat ring with 5 diamonds, one from each of us kids.  We arranged for her to have her own suite in the Ilikai Hotel consisting of a bedroom, a living area, a kitchen, a large bathroom and her own lānai.  Since I was accompanying her I was also treated to the same extravagances!  During those two weeks whenever I sat out on my lānai drinking my coffee as the day softly bloomed I thought “if only I had the money to live like this all of the time!”

Many think that if they won the lottery their lives would be so much better than it is right now.  I recently watched a documentary which made clear that this is not how it always turns out for lottery winners.  Most winners become besieged by sacks of mail on a daily basis filled with letters from people asking for money.  Some winners have been able to use their winnings wisely and enabling the money to work for them long-term.  Some winners went on impulse shopping sprees before coming to their senses and dealing with their winnings in a more prudent manner.  One individual made spectacularly bad decisions with his 5.5 million dollar winnings! Within two years he had to start selling all that he had bought in order to have some money.  After just a few years he was flat broke and living in a small storage room at the back of a friend’s plumbing company store!  One friend commented on the man’s behavior by saying, “Winning the lottery is like throwing Miracle Grow on your character defects.  Everything is magnified!

An interesting exercise might be to ask ourselves, “What characteristics about myself would I really NOT want to become any worse?”  Given enough Miracle Grow, the tendency to secretly judge others might grow into public in-your-face scorn.  No longer needing to earn money to pay the bills, an impulse to lethargy may well bloom into a full-fledged life of laziness and an early death.  With no monetary constrictions, an impulse to collect may well turn into full-fledged hoardingPerhaps what we need right now is what we already have?  Perhaps we are being saved from our own foolishness?  Perhaps Money isn’t even the point?!

Kahuna-pule Kimo

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Your Character Defects MAGNIFIED

  1. Jody says:

    Lovely. Having few needs and even fewer wants is the ultimate in comfort. By the way, some of my fondest memories will always be those of sitting on the lanai of the Ilikai with my own mother! It really is a small world after all.

    • That’s amazing we both have the identical fond-memory from the Ilikai, Jody! My last stay at the Ilikai was so visceral that I almost booked a trip this year to stay there again! Luckily, fiscal sense kicked in and I realized that what I spend on this end comes out of my retirement funds for moving to Hawaii in 2019… so I am staying put and “waiting it out”, though not patiently! Rats! I simple cannot wait to live in Hawaii !!
      Kahuna-pule Kimo

      • Jody says:

        😉 One of our daughter’s attended UH for her master’s degree. It was a great excuse to visit!

      • So far this year I have booked a trip to Hawaii and the Ilikai FOUR times, only having to cancel it once “reality and finances” come back to me! How I wish I could justify it for myself simply because I want to be there! The problem is that anything I take out of my 2019 retirement fund will really put me in a bind once I finally move to Kona! Nonetheless… Oh, how I wish I could get back right now!
        Kahuna-pule Kimo

  2. Jody says:

    I know exactly what you mean!

  3. Wow! These comments (above) between Kahu and Jody really ILLUSTRATE the immense tug-of-war we go through with NEED and WANTS!! Great article, Kahu!

What do you think about this?

