Dried Reverence

Journey2Kona2019

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

On one of my trips my brother Dan and I went to the Royal Mausoleum in Nu’uanu.  As I descended the steps down to the burial crypt I could see draped on the iron gates in the doorway a lei that someone had left in honor of those buried within.  I felt reverence as I stood there and prayed in that resting place for Hawaiʻi’s past Kings and Queens who struggled with the complex issues of being faithful to be Hawaiian, and to being a part of the non-Hawaiian world.

CLICK FOR LARGER IMAGE

The dictionary defines “reverence” as “A feeling of profound awe and respect, and often love; veneration.”  As I stood there, looking at that lei and trying to imagine the feelings which prompted that person to leave the lei I wondered “Why do we or don’t we express reverence?”  As I thought about that…

View original post 312 more words

About GOvideoHAWAII

Making YOU stand out with high-definition custom video productions tailored for your every need: for websites, on DVD's, documentaries or corporate profiles, formatted for broadcast TV, live streaming-webcasts and MORE!!
This entry was posted in J2K. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

